Florida law requires drivers to Move Over for Emergency Vehicles when it is safe to do so. Specifically, according to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV), you must move over a lane for any stopped law enforcement, emergency, sanitation, or utility service vehicles, tow trucks or wreckers, or maintenance or construction vehicles with flashing warning lights but no advanced warning signs or channeling devices.”
FHSMV says that if you can’t move over, slow down to a speed that is 20 mph slower than the posted speed limit, or when on a two-lane road. When the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less, reduce your speed to 5 mph. Failure to Move Over puts both you and other people in danger because you run the risk of hitting a car or a construction worker.
Move Over for Emergency Vehicles: It’s the Law
In order to lessen the risk to first responders and other roadside workers, Florida passed the Move Over for Emergency Vehicles law in 2002. Since 2015, there have been nearly 1,500 crashes involving roadside personnel with more than 100 serious injuries and seven deaths. Every year, state law enforcement issues between 15,000 and 20,000 citations for failure to move over for emergency vehicles. The law has a maximum $500 fine and three points against your license.
Failure to move over is one of the unsafe, careless and negligent driving behaviors that can lead to accidents and injury on Florida roadways. Contact the Orlando car accident lawyers at Martinez Manglardi if negligence caused you harm. We have been advocating for personal injury victims for nearly 35 years, and we have offices all around Central Florida. For a free consultation, call 866-730-1882.