When it comes to car accidents, it is important to understand the laws of the state you are in. In Florida, there are certain car accident laws that many drivers may not be aware of.
Car accident laws can sometimes be confusing and difficult to deal with especially if you’ve been injured in an accident. It’s a good idea to talk to an experienced personal injury attorney if you have questions. Call 866-730-3508 for a free consultation with an Orlando car accident attorney at the Martinez Manglardi personal injury law firm.
Here are the Florida Car Accident Laws You Should Know About
1) The Statute of Limitations
In Florida, car accident laws provide victims with the right to pursue legal action against the party who caused their injuries or damages. But this right is limited in time by a statute of limitations. This law determines how long after a car accident you have to bring a claim against the negligent driver. You have four years from the date of the car accident to file a lawsuit in civil court against any driver who is responsible for your damages and injuries. If more than four years have passed, it is unlikely that a court in Florida will hear your case.
2) No-Fault Insurance
In the state of Florida, no-fault insurance is required for all drivers. This type of insurance, also known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP), is designed to cover medical bills and lost wages that result from a car accident. PIP coverage pays up to 80 percent of necessary and reasonable medical expenses, up to $10,000, no matter who was at fault in the crash.
Additionally, Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by you or someone else driving your insured vehicle. If your injuries are more serious and exceed the limits of your PIP coverage, you may need to hire a personal injury attorney or car accident lawyer to pursue a claim against the other driver.
3) The Police Report
According to Florida car accident laws, you must file a police report after any car accident with significant damage. Not only does this help insurance companies, but it can also be used as evidence in a court of law if needed. A police report can provide key information about who was at fault and how the accident occurred. The police report should include details such as the time and location of the accident, information on all involved parties, witnesses, license plate numbers, vehicle damages, and an officer’s opinion on who was at fault. Keep a copy of the report for your records.
4) Hiring an Attorney
When it comes to car accidents, it’s important to know the laws and understand your rights. That’s why many individuals turn to a personal injury attorney or car accident lawyer when they are involved in an accident. An attorney can help determine who is at fault and guide you through the process of filing a claim. They can also help identify any potential insurance issues and advise you on whether or not to accept a settlement offer.
In addition, a car accident lawyer will work with your insurance company to ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve. Your lawyer may also be able to negotiate a settlement agreement that compensates you for medical bills, lost wages, and other expenses resulting from the accident.
If you’ve been injured in a car crash, talk to an Orlando car accident attorney at the Martinez Manglardi personal injury law firm. Call 866-730-3508 for a free consultation. Convenient locations throughout Central Florida.